Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Cup News

Eric Holbrook Cup goes to Aldershot Supporters Trust

Aldershot Supporters Trust won the Eric Holbrook Invitation Trophy beating Rushmoor Community 3-2 in a superb advert for local grass roots football.

The Trust opened the scoring on 10 minutes with a low well drilled right footed strike from Bobby Marlow. The lead lasted four minutes before Charlie Marshall guided in a header from close range. A superb strike from James Whitehouse just before the interval gave the Trust a half time lead.

The match was level on the hour when Marshall struck again slotting home after keeper Jack Patfield made  an excellent stop from the original shot.

However it was Aldershot’s day when Player of the Match Dan Cox took advantage of a defensive slip and coolly slipped the ball home under keeper Billy Leader on 70 minutes.

Rushmoor pressurised in a seven minute injury time spell and a last gasp superb finger tip save from Patfield denied the impressive Harry Rice from taking the match to penalties.

It was Aldershot Supporters Trust’s name to be included onto the Eric Holbrook Trophy for the first time.