Friday, July 19, 2024

Officer profiles

Thura KT Win (President)
Thura has been the President since 2009 and Chairman from 2005 to 2009, after joining the Council in 1995. He was also a member of the Hampshire FA Council between 2000 and 2013, a Director between 2002 and 2013 and the Deputy Chairman between 2005 and 2013. He is a member of The Football Association Council since 2007 and currently serving on, among other committees, the FA National Game Board, the FA Women’s Football Board, and the FA Judicial Panel. Thura is also a member of Sussex County FA since 2013 and a Director since 2016, becoming Chairman of the Sussex County FA in 2023. He is the Chairman of Crawley Town Community Foundation since 2019 and a Trustee since 2018. He is also the Chairman of Women’s Football Conference since 1998 and a member of The Premier League Judicial Panel since 2020. On the international front, Thura is a UEFA Match Delegate since 2017 and a FIFA Match Commissioner since 2021.
Mike Gardner (Chairman)
Mike has been Chairman since 2016, having joined Council a year earlier. Mike’s background in local football is in refereeing having qualified initially in 2000. He hung up his whistle in 2018 but remains involved in refereeing as a qualified mentor operating in our area. For many years he was also an active committee member at Fleet Town FC.  In the professional game his first love is Watford FC, a team he has followed for over 40 years, though he can often be seen at matches in the local area too.
Graham Brookland (Deputy Chairman)
Graham is currently Vice Chairman having served as the representative for the Army FA since 2007 where he is the Secretary and Referees’ Secretary. A long-standing local football fan he is Co-Founder of Aldershot Town FC and served the club for 25 years in an official capacity including roles as Director, Company Secretary, Head of Media and Club Ambassador. He was Supporters Club Chairman when Aldershot FC liquidated in 1992. He is also the Football Association Mental Health Champion for Army Referees.
Martin Castle (Secretary)
Involved in youth football since 1987 initially with teams his son played for Martin then got involved at Cove Manor and Borough United before an amalgamation with Rushmoor Sunday formed a youth section. Martin became manager as the team entered adult football. In 2005 the grass roots section had the opportunity to move to Southwood playing fields forming a new club called Rushmoor Communiity where Martin took up the position of Club Secretary. Alongside two other officers Martin was involved in securing funds and a grant from the Football Foundation and with support from Rushmoor Borough Council, to build a £1.3M facility which opened in 2009. Secretary until 2014 Martin helped develop the football provided to local community with a nursery group for U6 and teams at each youth age group through to U17, with exit for youth into two adult teams. There was also a Women’s , Girls and Disability team. Invited to join the ADFA Martin took the role of Secretary in his second season; a post he has held since 2016.
John Marchment (Treasurer)
ohn was Chairman from 2009 till 2016 and more recently Minutes Secretary and in 2023 took on the role of Treasurer. John joined the Council in 2002 as Benevolent Officer and remains in that position today. He has been a member of Hampshire FA for a good number of years, sits on several of their Committees as well as Disciplinary Commissions. He is a ‘one club man’ and started playing at 16 for Farnborough Covenanters FC in the Woking & Dist. League, progressing finally to the Wessex League. In the 35 years he was with the club which changed its name to Covies FC and then latterly to Farnborough North End FC, he held positions of Manager, Assistant Manager, Chairman, Treasurer and finally Secretary. John is a season ticket holder at Aldershot Town FC and has followed the Shots since 1969.
Richard Whittington (Competitions Secretary)
Richard has served on the ADFA Committee for 15 years, formerly as the Representative for senior clubs in the local area and is now the Cup Competition’s Secretary.
Born and bred in Wimbledon Richard followed Wimbledon FC from the Isthmian League to the Premier League via Wembley(twice). Richard was also on the Committee at Fleet Town for 15 years including terms as Vice Chairman and Secretary. Richard’s other football love is Everton FC.
Eddie Spraggett (Immediate Past President)
A huge influence having served the Association for over 30 years. During his time, he has held the posts of General Secretary, Treasurer and President and has always carried out his work diligently and to the highest standards. Prior to his work with the ADFA Eddie was the driving force behind two very successful Yateley based football clubs, Spenny’s and Monteagle Arms. In 2020, at the ADFA 125th Anniversary match between the Army and Camberley Town, he was presented with his 50 Year Long Service Award from the Football Association.
Chris Douglass (Minutes Secretary)
Awaiting profile…