

121st Annual General Meeting 19th May 2016 at Aldershot Town FC

# MINUTES OF THE 121<sup>st</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE ALDERSHOT DIVISIONAL FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION

HELD ON THURSDAY 19<sup>th</sup> May 2016
AT 8pm, ALDERSHOT TOWN FC, ALDERSHOT

Those present and submitted apologies are as per the Attendance List

## 1. Chairman's Remarks

The Chairman (John Marchment) welcomed everyone to the 121<sup>st</sup> AGM of the Association. He thanked all clubs for their contribution during the season reminding them all of their important contribution to football in the area.

He took the opportunity to thank his fellow officers for their help during the year, namely Martin Castle (Secretary), Thura Win (President) Mike Gardner (Deputy Chairman) Eddie Spraggett (Treasurer), and Adrian Brimicombe (Minutes Secretary).

JM added a special thanks to Steve Yeomans for his tremendous work as cup competitions chairman this season, reminding everybody that this was on top of his day job and also his role as an HFA Council board member and HFA Finance Director.

JM offered congratulations to Hartley Wintney FC for their stunning season which saw them reach the 5<sup>th</sup> round of the FA Vase and also crowned champions of the Combined Counties League.

Congratulations were offered to Bagshot FC who have received a promotion to the Combined Counties League from the Aldershot & District Saturday League for next season having won its Senior Division many times over recent seasons.

In the area there had been some success in county cups including Crookham Rovers in the U15 Sunday Cup, Eversley & California in the Sunday U16 cup and FC Fleet in the Sunday Junior A Cup.

## 2. The Minutes of the 120th Annual General Meeting

The Chairman presented the Minutes of the previous AGM and there were no matters arising.

# 3. Adoption of the Minutes of the 117th Annual General Meeting

The Chairman asked that the Minutes be adopted as a true record; this was proposed by Alton Town FC, seconded by Farnborough North End FC and approved by all present.

#### 4. General Secretary's Report

The General Secretary, Martin Castle, presented a verbal report, giving his thanks to his fellow officers and thanking them for their tremendous support in his first season as secretary.

MC also congratulated each of the clubs who had won the cup competitions and recorded the following final results:

Saturday Senior Cup:

Camberley Town 2 – Farnham Town 1



## 121st Annual General Meeting 19th May 2016 at Aldershot Town FC

Mark Coombs Trophy:

Four Marks 1 Farnborough North End 1 (aet - Four Marks win 5-4 on penalties)

Saturday Junior Cup:

Liphook Reserves 3 – Mytchett Athletic 1

Sunday Senior Cup:

West Farnborough 4 – Fernhill 2 (aet FT 2-2)

Eric Holbrook Cup

BOSC Sunday 2 - FC Fleet 1

He gave particular thanks to the Cup Committee for their hard work in managing the competitions which had always been undertaken and completed very efficiently and professionally.

MC stated that he had enjoyed his first year as Secretary. As a previous Club Secretary he commented that now seeing the other side of things within the Association he commended all for their hard work and dedication, and that he was happy to stand for re-election as Secretary of the Association.

#### 5. Treasurers Report

The Treasurer, Eddie Spraggett, presented the accounts as circulated.

There were no questions from the members. Acceptance of the accounts was proposed by Mytchett Athletic FC. This was seconded by Ropley FC and the accounts were duly approved by those present.

#### 6. Election of the Officers of the Council

The President, Thura TK Win, took the chair to oversee the election of Officers to the Council. He thanked the officers for all their hard work during the year and made particular mention of John Marchment for his efforts as Chairman during the season.

The following officers were standing unopposed for re-election:

President Mr Thura KT Win, JP Hon. General Secretary Mr Martin Castle

Minutes Secretary Mr Adrian Brimicombe

The following nominations had been received for vacant officers' roles:

**Chairman Mr Mike Gardner** [Nominated by John Marchment, Seconded by Phil Blakey]

Deputy Chairman Mr John Marchment

[Nominated by Eddie Spraggett Seconded by Adrian Brimisomb

[Nominated by Eddie Spraggett, Seconded by Adrian Brimicombe]

**Treasurer** Mr Steve Yeomans [Nominated by Eddie Spraggett, Seconded by Martin Castle]

Headley United FC proposed that the nominations be voted on 'en-bloc' which was accepted by the meeting.



121st Annual General Meeting 19th May 2016 at Aldershot Town FC

It was proposed by Diggers Elite FC that the nominations be accepted and seconded by AFC Laffans. The proposal was accepted by all of those present and voting. Mr Win therefore declared that all the Officers were elected as nominated and passed the chair of the meeting to the new chairman. The Chairman, on behalf of the Officers, thanked the meeting for the group re-election and for support in doing ADFA business during the year. The remainder of the meeting would be conducted by the new Deputy Chairman.

# 7. Appointment of Accounts Verifier

The Deputy Chairman announced that the Association would need to find a new Accounts Verifier for the forthcoming season and asked permission of the meeting to appoint a new verifier during the coming weeks. This was agreed by those present.

### 8. Rule Amendments

Phil Blakey presented the proposed rule changes to the meeting. He explained that there mandatory changes concerning the change of name of one of the Hampshire FA standing committees and that there would be two parts to the voting on the changes proposed by the ADFA Council. The first concerning the introduction of a new Cup competition to the Association, namely the ADFA Youth Invitation Challenge Cup.

It was proposed by Phil Rush that these changes be accepted (seconded by Fleet Town). The second part would be for the proposed increase in match officials fees for all except the Saturday Senior Cup which would be reviewed during the forthcoming season. PB explained the rationale behind the changes and that the last increase had been made for 2008/09. Both local adult Saturday and Sunday Leagues would also be putting the same increase to their AGMs over the coming weeks. Acceptance was proposed by AFC Laffans and seconded by Wey Valley FC. Both changes were accepted and in each case all present and in voting were in favour.

## 9. Meritorious Service to Football Awards

The Deputy Chairman paid tribute everyone involved in promoting football at local level and encouraged everyone to consider individuals whose contribution could be recognised in this way.

He stated that there was just one award for this season, to Dominic Gaskill, currently chairman of the Aldershot & District Sunday League. JM presented the award to Dominic Gaskill for having given more than 20 years service to football clubs in a variety of roles.

## 10. Attendants Roll Call

The Roll Call was carried out by Treasurer Steve Yeomans.

Mr Mike Gardner, Chairman



# 121st Annual General Meeting 19th May 2016 at Aldershot Town FC

# 11. Any Other Previously Notified Business

Meeting Closed at 8.23pm

The Deputy Chairman advised that next season's AGM will be on Thursday 18th May 2016.

There being no other notified business, the Deputy Chairman then thanked everyone for their attendance and for their support during his past 7 years as chairman. He wished his successor Mike Gardner and all the other officers every success for the following season.

	•••••	••••